Commonwealth realm

Go down

Commonwealth realm

Post  fearlove on Sun Nov 13, 2011 12:15 am

A Commonwealth realm is a sovereign state within the Commonwealth of Nations that has Elizabeth II as its monarch and head of state.[1][2] The sixteen current realms have a combined land area of 18.8 million km˛ (7.3 million mi˛, excluding Antarctic claims), and a population of 134 million,[3] of which all, except about two million, live in the six most populous states: the United Kingdom, Canada, Australia, Papua New Guinea, New Zealand and Jamaica.
Fourteen of the current and all former realms were once British colonies that evolved into independent states, the exceptions being the United Kingdom (UK) itself and Papua New Guinea, which was formed in 1975 as a union of the former German New Guinea — administered by Australia as an international trusteeship before independence — and the former British New Guinea — legally the territory of Papua, administered for the UK by Australia since 1905. The first realms to emerge were colonies that ha

How To Win Guy Back
natural dog food diet


Posts : 842
Join date : 2011-04-22

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Back to top

- Similar topics

Permissions in this forum:
You cannot reply to topics in this forum